Take a sad song and make it better

On Sunday night there was a security breach that led to a lockdown at Newark airport.  A man walked undetected through a secure area of a terminal.  One man’s actions led to thousands of passengers being stranded for close to six hours.

I don’t know about you but if I had been in that airport that night I would have been so annoyed.  Your plans are ruined and you have no other option but to wait it out with strangers.  I mean come on, these are not happy little travelers on the floor of an aiport.

If you’re ever in that situation, I hope there’s someone around that’s willing to grab his guitar and make a positive impact in a difficult situation.  A man like Josh Wilson.  He led fellow travelers in a version of “Hey Jude” and it looks as though it lightened things up…if only for a few minutes.

I’ve loved reading the comments on this video.

From Alisha54:  Just wanted to say that while I didn’t get to see you play, I was stuck somewhere among that Newark mess too. The story of your music spread through the airport and gave people some sort of positivity and hope… even those of us who didn’t see it first hand! Thanks for being courageous enough to stand up and belt it out 🙂

From Dangerosslee: thanks josh, you make me see that harmony can exist and people really aren’t that bad. in down times there can be an upside.

From Sceptile2390: this kind of video reminds me of the goodness in some people’s hearts

One man can’t make everything right when there’s chaos all around.  But one man can remind us that when things feel like they’re out of control, there’s always a way to make the best of it. If even for a moment.

If you’d like to hear some of Josh’s own songs, I’d encourage you to take the time and listen.  He’s a great guy and these songs come from the heart.

