So the Global Food Crisis Day Challenge continues.  You can read all about it and Day 1 here

More than likely you live a crazy busy life!  And you probably enjoy the convenience of other people making you coffee or food!  I’m there with you.  So many days I simply head to Starbucks and Stacy or Micah make me my coffee and we chat for a moment and then I head back to work.  Then, later in the day I may be too tired to even think of cooking when I get home so I’ll stop by some place like Quiznos and grab dinner to save myself time and effort.

That coffee and sandwich costs me about $10 on the days I decide to do that.   I’m sitting here thinking of how often I grab things at a store or restaurant and don’t even give it a 2nd thought.  It’s there I have the money and I do it.

This week I’m grateful for the chance to take a step back and evaluate how I’m spending my money.  Not only for this Global Food Crisis Challenge but for the sake of my relationship with God.  I can a waste a lot on things that really don’t mean a thing.   Things that don’t serve a purpose.  It’s not that you or I are bad if we do that…it’s just that we need to be thinking bigger.  If I have $10 to throw down on coffee and a sandwich in one day…I definitely have $14 to feed a child for a month for the Compassion Global Food Crisis Day.   In fact, I probably can help Compassion and other organizaztions that are helping build the Kingdom of God.  Helping meet needs in a way I could never do on my own.

This week I’m living in the awareness that each day day of this challenge, 12,000 children will die from hunger-related causes.  So by the time I get done with whining about not having coffee for a week, and only eating lentil soup, eggs or peanut butter and jelly sandwiches…84,000 kids will die.

Really puts things in perspective for me.  These kids need me.  These kids need you.  Simply put, as the body of Christ we need each other.

Back in 2005, I spent some time traveling around Lima, Peru and visiting Compassion International churches.  The very churches that will be distributing the money you’re willing to give to help with this food crisis to the families who are facing the greatest need.  The photo above is what kids see on a soccer field outside of one of these churches.   The words are from John 8:36, “if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”

I truly believe we are called to be Christ to people in need.   I hope in an effort to do that you will commit to pray with me for the Global Food Crisis Day, for the parents of the 84,000 kids who will die this week and feeling the loss no parent should know…and for how you can give to help release children from poverty in the name of Jesus Christ.

If you’d like to learn more about how you can do that…click here

Thanks for doing what you can!  : )

ss

