Here’s a picture of what I was able to buy with my $14 of food for the week.

food-300x258

In case you haven’t heard I’m doing this Global Food Crisis Day Food Challenge for the week.  On March 11th we’re teaming with Compassion International and hopefully you to help raise money for kids caught in the middle of life-threatening situations because of the global food crisis.  Click here to read all about it and get involved

Angela saw this pic posted on my Facebook and this is what she said: not bad….(the food). Isn’t it just amazing, what we think we can’t live without?  So here’s what I’ve had to eat today:

Breakfast: 2 eggs (good protein!) and Water!

Lunch: P B & J and Water! (i don’t remember the last time i had PB & J. I feel like i’m 5 yrs old!)

People have been making a big deal out of only $14 of food for the week but it goes further than you would think!

Ways people have already given and taught me a lesson:

1) when I went to target to buy my food I had $14.  The order came up to $14.06.   I started to ask the cashier to take something off and man standing behind me gave me a nickel and the cashier gave me a penny.   I know it sounds so small but the truth is…either I was going to have to put something back or someone had to help in a small way.  That penny and nickel meant a lot to me.  And usually we just look at pennies as being meaningless and of little value. Sure adds up!

2) Our morning show co-host, Dale Best, surprised me with a cup of coffee today. I think that’s partially because I’m becoming known as the “coffee monster” around KDUV. I literally have 4-5 cups of coffee a day and I’m coming face to face with the reality of my addiction to this stuff since I’ve been weaning myself off it for a couple of days. I spend about $40 a month on coffee alone because I buy it from a place in Savannah, GA that makes the stuff I like. Wow, close to 4 kids could eat for a month off what I spend on coffee each month!

The point of this week is to remind you and myself how EASY it is to give! Most of these families living in poverty worldwide live on less than a dollar a day. The US dollar goes so far and buys SO much in these countries. 14 US dollars can feed a child for a month! The question is 1) will i give up the everyday comforts and live on less than normal AND 2) will people get involved in their own unique way? prayer, giving, etc.

And if you do that…praying and giving…thank you for the difference you’re making! : ) ss

