We all have those days…the meaningful days that are etched into our memory. For me, one of the most meaningful days of my life was the day I met seven year old Ronald Parishuana. I had traveled to Peru with a fellow group of radio station programmers and had decided to take the next step and sponsor a child. 

When I met Ronald I was sitting in the basement of a church that serves as the Compassion project in a small village outside of Lima. I had no idea what to expect or what to say. I kept telling myself we don’t speak the same language, I don’t have kids and there’s no way I can relate to this child.

Ronald walked into the room with his mom and looked just as scared as I was that day. With the help of an interpreter Ronald’s mother explained that he is shy when he meets people because he has a lisp and is embarrassed. I smiled and told Ronald I understood how he felt because I have struggled with a speech impediment since childhood. We got to spend a few hours together that day, at the church and at his home. The more we talked, the more we realized we had in common. Surprising because I never imagined that a Southern born California transplant would have much in common with a kid that lives in a run down shack on the outskirts of Lima.

What a great reminder that God is in the details. That He perfectly orchestrated my meeting Ronald and sponsoring him. Ronald is now 10 years old and over the past few years I’ve had the privilege of investing in relationship with this little one by writing letters and encouraging him in his walk with God.

Sponsoring Ronald is more than a $32 debit from my bank account each month and the occasional letter. It’s helping provide him with opportunities that can literally change his life. Maybe you’re like me and you dream of changing the world. I’ve come to realize that change begins with simple acts of love and an openness to make a move when we feel God leading us.

Maybe he’s leading you to sponsor a child. If so, I hope you’ll do that today. You’ll be amazed at how this act of love will impact your life…and how you’ll impact the life of a little one in another part of the world. If you feel led to sponsor a child, I’m making it easy for you!

Click here to sponsor a child and change a life!


